Spring 2015 Newsletter

ONC Is Seeking an Experienced Controller in the Anchorage Office

Mark your Calendars  

Deadline to Submit Candidate Packets July 23
Anchorage Settlement Trust Workshop- Sheraton Aug. 8
Proxy Statements Mailed to Shareholders Week of Aug. 14
Seattle Settlement Trust Workshop- DoubleTree Suites Sept. 5
Deadline to submit Proxies Oct. 8
Annual Meeting-- Cultural Center, Ouzinkie Oct. 9

Ouzinkie Native Corporation, a village corporation, was formed July 23rd, 1973, as part of the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act of 1971. Upon formation, Ouzinkie Native Corporation (ONC) had 339 original shareholders, all of Alutiiq descent, living in the village of Ouzinkie on Spruce Island, or who were originally from the village.  Each shareholder received one hundred shares at incorporation that cannot be sold or traded. 

Today there are approximately 477 shareholders by way of shares either inherited by new shareholders or were gifted to family members. 

The mission of the Ouzinkie Native Corporation is to develop profitable business enterprises to provide maximum financial return and other benefits to our shareholders while preserving our culture and protecting our lands